Steps To Delete your iPhone or iPad via iCloud Remotely

If your iPhone/iPad is lost or stolen, the first thing many of you should do is trying to delete all you data right away to ensure the safety. As you know, from iOS 7, all iOS devices have the Find My iPhone features, so you make use of this to erase your important data via iCloud.com websites. In this post, we’ll show you steps to delete your data via iCloud.com. Let’s check out!

Before starting, you should note that the Find My iPhone on the device you’re to erase must be activated and erasing the device is just a last resort as after it’s erased, Find My iPhone can’t be used to locate your lost device.

How to erase data on stolen or lost iPhone via iCloud

Step 1: Access iCloud.com from your computer or open Find My iPhone on other iDevices , then log in your Apple ID and password, click on Find my iPhone.

Step 2: After logging in, you’ll view a split screen at the top, and  names of devices associated with your Apple ID below.

Step 3: Tap on your lost device, you’ll then get directions to the location of your device; click on the Lost Mode quickly.

Step 4: Click on “Actions” button at the bottom to see different options. Select “Erase” from the list.

Step 5: You will receive a message to confirm that if you want to really erase data on your device. Select “Erase iPhone.”

Step 6: Enter Apple ID and password, then choose Next.

Step 7: Enter a phone number that will be displayed on the lock screen of the lost iPhone/iPad after you erase. This number is used to contact with you in case someone comes through your device. Click on Next.

Step 8: Enter the message you want to display with the number and click on Done.

Step 9: There will be a message informing the iPhone was erased. Select OK to dismiss it.

Also read: Know How You Can Find The Best Transit Route in Apple Maps on Your iPhone

The lost device will then be restored, and all the data will be deleted. But if your lost devices offline during the process, it cannot be erased. It will be when it’s online.

After the restoration, nobody can activate your lost iPhone/iPad. The device will stuck on the Activate iPhone screen and can’t be used without your Apple ID and password.