How to Turn Off HDR Photo Duplicates on iPhone

HDR (High Dynamic Range) mode works great on your iPhone in high-contrast scenarios. The feature allows you to take several shots in the quick time, with various exposures, and then blend them with each other automatically.

The final result is that you’ll get an optimized photo with highlights and shadows coming out as well as fascinating details by using HDR in bright places.

When you activate HDR mode with a tap on the HDR icon in Camera app, though, you just press the capture button onetime, two copies of your photos will be saved in the Camera Roll – one is the original photo and another is the HDR version.

But if you enable this mode, your iPhone’s space will fill up quickly, especially when several HDR photos are taken. If you want to keep more free space, then you should turn off HDR photo duplicates. It will help you save up a lot of storage space on your iPhone. Here is how to do that.

Steps to turn off duplicates of HDR photo on iPhone

  • Launch Settings -> tap on Photos & Camera.
  • Scroll down to the bottom and toggle the switch next to “Keep Normal Photo” to OFF.
  • You can now take normal photos on your iPhone.

Once you do this, whenever you take an HDR image, your iPhone only keeps the non-HDR images instead of the original and the HDR version. You can identify HDR photos in the image easily by taking a look at the “HDR” icon marked in the corner.

Also read: How to Enable Front Camera Flash On iPhone 6, 6+, 5s

If you enable the option “Keep Normal Photo” again, both HDR and original photos will saved into the Photos app, the space will be needed two times to keep them.

You can use the HDR mode while taking photos with both the rear-facing and front-facing camera from iPhone 5s and higher iPhone models. Moreover, in the Camera app, you can select the “HDR auto” option to use the HDR mode in your iPhone at the significant moments as well.